STRONG CONNECTIONS

With our innovative brazing in the high-vacuum process, we combine a wide range of materials.

precise

Safe for people and the environment 

no oxidation

CONTACT

 

Wabawaska Eng. GmbH

Helmstrasse 1

CH-2562 Port


Switzerland


Phone: +41 44 844 28 88
Fax: +41 44 844 31 38
Info@wabawaska.ch

Copyright © 2017 Wabawaska – All rights reserved.

TECHNOLOGY

A successful reaction between the brazing metal and the diamond is evidenced by the black coloration of the contact surface and the loss of light reflection, which can be observed very clearly on translucent diamonds.

Wabawaska only carries out high-vacuum brazing in the lower range from 10-5 mbar, between 800 and 900°C (depending on the type of brazing metal). The high-vacuum process offers a high level of safety as regards oxidation and protection of the materials used. The brazing metals normally used are copper- and silver-based; in the forms that are used, they pose no hazard for people or the environment, i.e. in particular they do not contain any Zn, Cd, Pb or Cr.

The term 'brazing' describes a joining method in which two materials are bonded by means of a brazing alloy; the braze metal reacts chemically on both sides in this case. If one of the materials is a non-metal such as diamond, sapphire, ceramic or cubic boron nitride (CBN), the term 'active brazing' is used. 

During the molten liquid contact between an active brazing metal and diamond, chemical compounds of metals and carbon (known as carbides) are formed in a thin layer on the diamond's surface. Bonding with the brazing metal takes place via carbon atoms which are only partially extracted from the diamond lattice, i.e. they remain integrated in the diamond lattice with at least one of their four bonding electrons (valences) while the other valences are bonded to the active atoms in the brazing metal. Metals which are not very chemically active (such as precious metals) cannot form carbides of this sort; highly reactive metals are required for this purpose. The simplest brazing metals consist of a combination of precious metals alloyed with a small quantity of a chemically reactive element such as titanium or zircon.

Active Brazing 

Wabawaska uses the high-vacuum process to braze hard metals for tools and a variety of specialised applications. Our solutions are used in cases where the joining methods have to withstand high mechanical and/or thermal stresses: examples include the brazing of diamonds and other hard materials in precision tools, brazed diamond nozzles and ceramic feed-throughs for high-pressure applications.

Applications 

Application-related wear of a diamond or other hard materials in a tool is often due to a thermo-chemical reaction between its contact point and the work piece. Brazing with active brazing metal dramatically increases the heat transported from the contact point through the hard metal into the brazing metal and on into the substrate; this phenomenon is further enhanced by the use of vibration-reducing shaft materials.

 

Advances in brazing technology - especially more refined joining methods for brazing with greater dimensional accuracy - are opening up new application areas, which also include miniaturisation. Brazing metals with high resistance to corrosion also mean that new applications in the food and medical sectors are feasible.

Active brazing is in growing demand for instrument parts which are subject to high thermal and mechanical stress, such as power feed-throughs or diamond nozzles. Thermal stability extends above 500°C in these cases. 

GALLERIE

ABOUT US

 

The commissioned tool parts (i.e. diamonds and hardmetal or steal shafts) are assemblied manually and brazed using a high-vacuum process. Precision and meticulous care are our top priorities as we execute these tasks. We measure up to the requirements of many of our 
regular clients who supply tools to the Swiss watchmaking and other precision work sectors.

The technical advances in soldering technology make new applications possible in different areas. For PCD, CVD, MCD, CBN, Sapphire and Ruby.

CONSULTING SERVICE

We always strive to implement individual customer requirements precisely.

 

Are you unsure about the technical implementation?

 

We are your competent partner and will be pleased to advise you personally.

 
 
 

GALLERY

STARKE VERBINDUNGEN

Mit unserem innovativen Löten im Hochvakuumverfahren verbinden wir verschiedenste Materialien.

präzise

sicher für Mensch und Umwelt

keine Oxydation

KONTAKT

 

Wabawaska Eng. GmbH

Helmstrasse 1

CH-2562 Port


Switzerland


Tel.: +41 44 844 28 88
Fax: +41 44 844 31 38
Info@wabawaska.ch

Copyright © 2017 Wabawaska – Alle Rechte vorbehalten.

TECHNIK

Eine erfolgreiche Reaktion des Lotes mit dem Diamant zeigt sich in der Schwarzfärbung der Kontaktfläche und dem Verlust der Lichtreflexion, was an durchsichtigen Diamanten sehr deutlich zu beobachten ist. 

Wabawaska lötet ausschliesslich im Hochvakuum im unteren Bereich von 10-5 mbar zwischen 800 und 900°C (je nach Lottyp). Der Hochvakuumprozess bietet eine hohe Sicherheit bezüglich Oxydationen und Schutz der eingesetzten Materialien. Als Lote werden normalerweise Kupfer- und Silberbasislote verwendet, die in der verwendeten Form für Mensch und Umwelt ungefährlich sind, die also insbesondere kein Zn, Cd, Pb und Cr enthalten.

Der Begriff des Lötens bezeichnet eine Fügetechnik, bei der zwei Materialien mittels einer Lotlegierung gebunden werden, indem das Lot beidseitig chemisch reagiert. Handelt es sich beim einen der Materialien um ein Nichtmetall (z.B. Diamant, Saphir, Keramik, kubisches Bornitrid), spricht man von Aktivlöten.

Während des schmelzflüssigen Kontaktes eines Aktivlotes mit Diamant entstehen an dessen Oberfläche in einer dünnen Schicht chemische Verbindungen zwischen Metallen und Kohlenstoff, die sogenannten Karbide. Die Bindung zum Lot geschieht dabei über Kohlenstoffatome, die nur teilweise aus dem Diamantgitter herausgelöst werden, d.h. mit mindestens einem seiner vier Bindungselektronen (Valenzen) im Diamantgitter eingebunden bleiben, während die übrigen Valenzen an Aktivatome im Lot gebunden werden. Chemisch wenig aktive Metalle, z.B. Edelmetalle, können keine solchen Karbide bilden, es braucht dazu reaktionsfreudige Metalle. Die einfachsten Lote bestehen aus einer Kombination von Edelmetallen und einer geringen, einlegierten Menge eines chemisch reaktiven Elementes wie Titan, Zirkon etc. 

Wabawaska verlötet im Hochvakuumverfahren Hartstoffe für Werkzeuge und verschiedene Spezialanwendungen. Unsere Lösungen werden in Fällen eingesetzt, in denen die Fügemethode hohen mechanischen und / oder thermischen Belastungen standhalten müssen. Beispiele sind die Verlötung von Diamanten und anderen Hartstoffen in Präzisionswerkzeugen, gelötete Diamantdüsen und Keramikdurchführungen im Hochdruckbereich.

Die Möglichkeiten des Aktivlötens

Werkzeuge und Spezialanwendungen

 Die anwendungsbedingte Abnützung eines Diamanten im Werkzeug ist oft eine Folge einer thermisch-chemischen Reaktion seiner Eingriffsstelle mit dem Werkstück. Durch das Einlöten mit Aktivlot wird die Wärmeabfuhr von der Eingriffsstelle durch den Hartstoff ins Lot und weiter in den Träger drastisch erhöht, was durch die Verwendung von schwingungsdämpfenden Schaftmaterialien noch unterstützt wird. Die Fortschritte in der Löttechnologie, insbesondere verfeinerte Fügemethoden für massgenauere Lötungen erschliessen neue Einsatzgebiete, auch bezüglich der Miniaturisierung. Mit Loten, die eine hohe Korrosionsresistenz aufweisen, sind auch neue Anwendungen im Lebensmittel- und im medizinischen Bereich denkbar. Auch für thermisch und mechanisch hochbelastete Instrumententeile, z. B. Stromdurchführungen oder Diamantdüsen, ist Aktivlöten immer häufiger gefragt. Die thermische Belastbarkeit reicht dabei über 500°C.  

GALLERIE

ÜBER UNS

 

Wir montieren manuell die uns anvertrauten Werkzeugteile (z.B. Diamanten und Stahl- oder Hartmetallschäfte) und löten diese im Anschluss im Hochvakuumverfahren (Hochvakuumlöten). In der Ausführung legen wir unsere höchste Aufmerksamkeit auf die präzise Einhaltung von Vorgaben und Toleranzen. Ganz so, wie es im Umfeld der Schweizer Uhren- und Präzisionsindustrie Tradition ist.

Die technischen Fortschritte in der Löttechnologie machen neue Anwendungen in verschiedenen Bereichen möglich. Für PKD, CVD, MKD, CBN, Saphir und Rubin.

BERATUNG

Wir sind stets darauf bedacht, individuelle Kundenwünsche präzise umzusetzen.

Sie sind sich über die technische Umsetzung nicht sicher?

Wir sind Ihr kompetenter Partner und beraten Sie gerne persönlich.

 
 
 

GALERIE